GF diet – best gluten free diet and food

The gluten free foods are good for health and thus include fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, and nuts. Take some pure wheat grass and barley grass that is gluten free, but the seeds contain gluten. There are some foods that are naturally gluten free such as rice, cassava, corn, soy, potato, beans, millet, arrowroot, tapioca, etc. If you are concerned about the safety of a grain, that the purchase of only versions are tested for the presence of gluten and that it contain less than 20 ppm.

Before knowing about the gluten-free diet, let us see what is gluten and how it affects a person. Gluten is a kind of protein, which is available in wheat, barley and rye, but you don’t find it in eggs and meat. Gluten has been linked with certain health issues like gluten allergy or sensitivity. Doctors are coming across many patients with gluten sensitivities, as per the estimation, nearly 1 percent of the population are suffering with gluten sensitivity, though most of the experts deliberated that this problem is under diagnosed.

Avoiding the intake of the gluten encompassed food items is nothing but following the gluten-free diet. It is recommended for the people who are suffering with gluten allergies or sensitivity or celiac disease, a condition that damages the intestine due to the consumption of gluten based food items.

Cream soup

In the preparation of any cream soup, the importance of roux is big. Roux is made up of flour, milk or cream and butter. The creamy lovers mostly don’t think about the side-ingredient flour. So, instead of ordering the asparagus soup, try the stock based pasta-free soup. However, stock contains gluten so soups are not a good option if you want to be under gluten-free diet.

Cereals

Some cereals or any wheat based ingredients contain gluten, but some may don’t have. First check for the right one on label, and also realizes that not all gluten free cereals will advertise as such, so it is important to check with gluten in the list of ingredients. Cornflakes and puffed rice cereal may contain malt flavoring or extract, which contain gluten.

Soy sauce

Using soy sauce is another way of taking the gluten based food. Many soy sauce bottles contain wheat, which are sometimes they are labeled or sometimes not.  So, cross it and seek for tamari soy sauce, which is wheat free and tastes great.

Oats

Oats are harvested and processed with the same equipment that are used for wheat, and are easily contaminated. It is better to research on the pure, uncontaminated oats that you consumed in moderation as ½ cup of dry rolled oats daily. Look for oats that are specifically labeled gluten free on all products that contain oats, and that includes granolas and granola bars.

Ice cream

Whether you know it or know, some of the ice cream flavors consist of gluten. Keep an eye on the label of the ice cream label, if you found wheat on the product label then try to avoid it. Well, you can blindly choose vanilla in the menu or if you really love prepare the food items in your home, then it’s time to stir your hand and keep a bowl of ice cream in the fridge.

Processed food

Processed fruits, dried fruits, pre prepared smoothies and veggies are naturally gluten free, but it is better to check labels before purchasing them. Some package frozen potatoes are not always gluten free and labels should be read carefully when considering these products.

subscribe

Join 127,207 other subscribers

Say no to bread

Perhaps the soft tempting texture may be roping you to eat, but bread consists of wheat, white, marble and rye. You also need to give farewell for buns,  muffins, bagels, hamburger and other bread products that are siblings of the bread.

Beverages

Juices, sodas, sports drinks are gluten free. Alcoholic beverages that includes wines and hard liquor/hard ciders/distilled liquors are gluten free. But some like beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages, and malt vinegars are made from gluten that contains grains, which are not distilled and therefore are not gluten free. But there are some gluten free beers that are available in the United States and abroad.

Vitamins

You may take your vitamin tablet without having next thought, but there are some vitamin tablets prepared with some content of gluten in it. Gluten won’t be written on the label, so you need to consult the manufacturer and find it out whether the vitamin consists of gluten in it or not, if you are tackling any gluten sensitivity issues.

Medicines

Vitamins and not all medicines are gluten free as it is better to make sure to check with the label that before you purchase it. It is better and advised on medications and supplements to check for gluten.

Potato chips

It may be a surprise for you to know that potato chips consists of gluten, but yes some of them consists of! Particularly which came with a heavy seasoning contains wheat. As like a gluten-checker you again need to check the label to know the reality. Alternatively, try consuming the regular chips at grocery stores to complete the wish of potato chips.

These are the top list of the food items that consists gluten, however many supermarkets are delivering the gluten-free products, including breads and sauces. These are prepared out from potato flour or with rice flour without the flick of wheat products. What ever it is check it on the label and confirm it is 100% gluten free.

loading...